Skip Navigation
Federal Election Commission, United States of America (logo). Link to FEC Home Page
Federal Election Commission
FEC Search

You're visiting a page from the old design. | Visit the new

News Releases

For Immediate Release Contact:  Judith Ingram
October 28, 2013 Julia Queen
  Christian Hilland
PDF.pdf version of this news release  


Two New FEC Commissioners Assume Office; Will Hold Open Meeting on October 31

WASHINGTON – Lee E. Goodman and Ann M. Ravel have assumed their new roles as Commissioners of the Federal Election Commission. President Barack Obama nominated Commissioners Ravel and Goodman on June 21, 2013, and the United States Senate confirmed their nominations on September 23, 2013.

Commissioner Goodman, a Republican, replaces Vice Chairman Donald F. McGahn, who left the Commission in September. Commissioner Goodman was sworn in on Tuesday, October 22. His term will expire on April 30, 2015.

Commissioner Ravel, a Democrat, replaces Commissioner Cynthia L. Bauerly, who left the Commission in February. Commissioner Ravel was sworn in on Friday, October 25. Her term will expire on April 30, 2017.

"Lee and Ann bring a wealth of experience, and I look forward to working with them," said Chair Ellen L. Weintraub. "I am glad the Commission is again able to pursue its important mission with a full complement of six Commissioners."

In addition to Chair Weintraub, Commissioner Goodman and Commissioner Ravel join Commissioners Caroline C. Hunter, Matthew S. Petersen and Steven T. Walther.

The Commission’s next open meeting will be held on October 31, which will be the first public meeting for the new Commissioners. At its meeting Thursday, the Commission will elect a new Vice Chairman for the remainder of 2013.



The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

# # #