Skip Navigation
Federal Election Commission, United States of America (logo). Link to FEC Home Page
Federal Election Commission

You're visiting a page from the old design. | Please Visit the new



News Releases


For Immediate Release


Judith Ingram

August 20, 2010

Julia Queen
  Christian Hilland
  Mary Brandenberger

FEC Cites Nine Committees for Failure to File 12-Day Pre-Primary Financial Reports

WASHINGTON -- The Federal Election Commission (FEC) cited nine campaign committees for failing to file the 12-Day Pre-Primary Election Report required by the Federal Election Campaign Act of 1971, as revised (the Act), for primary elections that are being held on August 24, 2010 in Alaska, Arizona, and Florida.

As of August 20, 2010, the required disclosure reports had not been received from:

  • Scott McAdams for United States Senate (AK)
  • Committee to Elect Joe Penalosa (AZ-4)
  • Goss for Congress (AZ-8)
  • Kevin Burns 4 U.S. Senate (FL)
  • Thorpe for U.S. Senate (FL)
  • Rick Eaton for Congress (FL-13)
  • Ed Tautiva for Congress Committee (FL-16)
  • Jim Horn Election Committee (FL-16)
  • Deon Long for Congress (FL-24)

The reports were due on August 12, 2010, and should have included financial activity for the period July 1, 2010, through August 4, 2010. If sent by certified or registered mail, the reports should have been postmarked by August 9, 2010.

The FEC notified committees involved in primary elections in Alaska, Arizona, and Florida of their potential filing requirements on July 19, 2010. Those committees that did not file on the due date were sent notification on August 13, 2010 that their reports had not been received and that their names would be published if they did not respond within four business days.

The Federal Election Commission (FEC) is an independent regulatory agency that administers and enforces federal campaign finance laws. The FEC has jurisdiction over the financing of campaigns for the U.S. House of Representatives, the U.S. Senate, the Presidency and the Vice Presidency. Established in 1975, the FEC is composed of six Commissioners who are nominated by the President and confirmed by the U.S. Senate.

# # #